Pittsburgh Photos, and 72 Things Happening in My Life Right Now

I have been saying for days, “I’ll be putting up those photos on the blog soon! Yep, the ones from the trip. So… keep an eye out!” I’ve been saying for months, “I really ought to get on that blog posting.” And I’ve been saying for years, “I should journal the big stuff. Not everything… but what matters.” I want to live up to my word! My favorite fortune cookie fortune I’ve seen so far (I’ve got it taped to the wall above my bed) says this, word for word: “Theories get you thinking. Sweat get you results.” Broken English, but I like it. :-) It gives it character. Here’s my version: Having good intentions is like having a new skateboard: You never know what’s going to happen until you step up and push off.

So I kind of want to change the way I do some things in life, and to be efficient, (and not to mention timely,) here is a blog post of the promised photos, in addition to an excerpt from my journal. (BING. BANG. SKADOOSH.)

IMG_6928

IMG_6932

IMG_6934

IMG_6938

IMG_6940

IMG_6942

IMG_6943

IMG_6948

IMG_6954

IMG_6956

IMG_6958

IMG_6963

IMG_6964

IMG_6968

IMG_6970

IMG_6973

IMG_6975

IMG_6977

IMG_6978

IMG_6982

IMG_6983

IMG_6990

IMG_6992

IMG_6993

IMG_6996

IMG_6999

IMG_7001

IMG_7003

IMG_7004

IMG_7005

IMG_7011

IMG_7016

IMG_7020

IMG_7021

IMG_7024

IMG_7029

IMG_7031IMG_7036

IMG_7055

IMG_7054

IMG_7049

IMG_7040

IMG_7038

These are my words for Pittsburgh:

Your people are your lifeblood. Your men are straight-spoken, kind-eyed and truehearted. Hot-blooded. Powerful. Your women are quick to laugh, to speak truth, and to understand.They are some of the most real folks I’ve ever known. Your people made us their family. Your church is maturing.

The life of your earth, trees and flowers, is vibrant- breathtaking, sincerely. Your city is an adventurous place.

Ruthfred was something else. And I mean, literally entirely else. Minnesota church, in my perception, was dark, deep in the evening. And every face was known, and every word was listened to. Church in these hills has been wider, stiffer, but deeply rooted. It’s hard! Comparing a flower to a diamond – a guitar to a choir – a shower of rain to a still and quiet lake. Give me truth in any form and I will dutifully, and, to my best ability, joyfully consume it. But don’t make me choose between the spiced meat and the same bread. Give me both, and let them make each other whole.

(The safari clutches at the heart, whereas the schoolroom feeds the mind. I must remember that these are both members of one body. They play different songs.)

I’ve learned new tastes, and their best placements, better than I ever could have from the outside.Their is a very singular beauty in the singing of a choir. (And, in the same breath, the same can be said of a team of musicians leading worship. [I used “leading worship” in the modern sense of the phrase, but if you think about it, it applies to both groups of people. Hmm.])

Also! I loved the rain here. Warm and silver, nature’s tent, asking us to focus! to see the world around you, with bright and searching eyes! Your rain makes the trail one not to be trifled with, the road a stream, and the stream a river. And whenever the rain lets up, the cracked pavement by the churchside breathes hot, misty fog, and the river calms, its endless roar quieting.

I think I’d best conclude by saying that the way I see you is the way I’d like to see the whole world: A thousand interconnected islands [for this is the feeling one gets amongst the hills] with good people between them, and a heart of gold; that being, Loyalty. You are profoundly loyal, in sports, in self love, but most clearly in relationships. Your people are blood relatives.

Within you, I learned more about purpose, truth, and connection then I’ve ever known before. Thank you.

subscribe to muse by… rss. >  http://bit.ly/NoEtv9  // email. > http://bit.ly/LEzaFI

2 thoughts on “Pittsburgh Photos, and 72 Things Happening in My Life Right Now

Leave a Reply

