Well, it’s official: My nose is coming off.

Goodbye, nose.

Well, it’s official: My nose is coming off.
After hours of skiing and swimming and tubing
and other such watery stuff,
the sun has won. My face is baked.
It went from white and soft

To flaky, brittle – papery, even.
It pulls away in sheets.
With old asphalt or sandpaper
It EASILY competes.

I had hoped for “suntanned, leathery,”
maybe like some dude from Jamaica.
The
 sun said, “Nada.”

So here I am with nose just peeling off
lay’r after layer.
First bridge, then tip, then nostrils
until there’s nothing there.

I’ll be a schnozzless child –
I’ll be ugly, I confess.
But though devoid of a sniffer,
I’ll be tan, nonetheless.

Until the next…

Subscribe to “Muse :: Born of a Wandering Mind” by…

One thought on “Well, it’s official: My nose is coming off.

Leave a Reply

