The Hunger Games :: What Should Be (Pt. Two)

(A quick pre-post [in contrast to post-post] heads up: If you have not entered my 16th-edy-1st blog birthday giveaway, you can’t win it. Just saying. [http://embarrassedzebra.wordpress.com/2012/03/13/my-16th-edy-1st-blog-birthday-giveaway/] Also, I joined Klout, a website for tracking one’s social-media influence. Like what I write? Share it with people! Tell them about that funny, weird guy with the Zebra blog that writes about everything. :-))

This is a follow up to yesterday’s post. If you haven’t read that yet, hop (or click) on over and check it out.
>> https://sjskogerboe.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/the-hunger-games-what-was-pt-one/

Here’s a fact. Worry is unnecessary. Matthew 6:7 puts it this way. “And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?” Worry, we know then, is useless. So what do we do with this knowledge? We change.
In the absence of a spirit of timidity and worry, one will find great resolve to do. Think of it this way. Were a child not so afraid of the dark, he would turn on the lights. Were a man not so afraid of what was in his Ethiopian food, he might scarf it down, and possibly live to enjoy it. There are so many more opportunities given to you when you dive into a task, rather than just wetting your toes.

And so I do not sit and mutter to myself quietly, “Oh, those blasted kids who laughed at that Hunger Games scene. What is this world coming to? Woe is me. Boohooslobbersniff…” I am what this world is coming to. So are they. So are you. And if we don’t like it, we change it. We tuck in our proverbial belts and get to it. For me, that means writing an article. (Or two.) For you, it might mean going to the movie with a friend, and talking it out over coffee. (Or you could go to the movie, and I’ll drink coffee. … Or vice versa.)

Whichever you choose, there are a couple of things you need to see in this movie.

The Hunger Games is a prediction of something that could happen. Reality TV has played a major part in desensitizing Americans today. Think about American Idol. Major talent is revealed through that show. That’s why people love it so much. But the people that are on there, aside from being great singers, have lives. Lives that are changed by what happens on your television screen. People are voted off each night, and soon forgotten about. But nobody stops to think, What ever happened to that guy?

When people watch this movie, they should see art. They should see sacrifice. And they should see a warning. (In my opinion, comedy doesn’t make the list. Although there are a few funny moments. “Sooo, I’ll take the bow.” :-D)Sometimes, governments take control. When America began, it fought for freedom from a over-controlling hierarchy. It could happen again someday, if we aren’t careful.  It’s one to think about.

Until the next…

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games :: What Should Be (Pt. Two)

  1. Well…I thought I’d share my thoughts too since I just saw the movie last night. Coming from someone who only read a few chapters of the book, I had to agree with my friends when they said it lacked character development. I understand that they had to condense the story, but I did feel like I was missing out on what the characters were thinking. That tends to be the downfall of book-movies. Also, there wasn’t much music in the film. But those are my only complaints. Not the best in the world, but it was pretty good =D.
    Movie theater commentators….ehh, they are such drag.
    I also wish people would learn to look at stuff (and not just movies) from a more artistic view point. I did like the filming. (And despite what you may think about *cough cough* Twilight *ahem,* I remember the filming being well done, too ;)
    You say The Hunger Games is something that might happen in the future. I think it’s a reflection of what is already going on, in a metaphoric sense (and in some places people probably do kill for survival). Everyone fights to come out on top. It’s sad what people do to get there. The movie was such a good example of what can happen when someone says “Enough, I’m going to make the sacrifice and not live the way you think I should.” People do live life like it is a political game. -_-
    Lastly, when the cat-beast-creature-thing attacked them in the woods, that really was funny; we all jumped so high in our seats! >.<
    (and p.s. I'm not sure if you've hit high school yet, but your habit of writing will come in handy…compared to what I've seen, you've got some great writing skills. So keep blogging! =])

  2. Do you think I should go see The Hunger Games? I’ve heard a lot about it, and I’m also wondering if I should read the book first. Is it really good? Is it extremely gory?

    • READ THE BOOK FIRST. (This will always be my answer to that question, but especially for The Hunger Games. :-)) Then? Watch it. Think. Munch some popcorn. Think. (You really can’t see this movie without thinking, in my opinion.) And, just for the sake of Pete- keep an eye on the audience. See how they react.

Leave a Reply

