The Hunger Games :: What Was (Pt. One)

I have been asked by several people to do an article on the recently released Hunger Games movie. I don’t want to write an article. I want to write a book. :-) To be honest, when I went into the theatre, I was not expecting to be blown away. I thought it would be a good enough movie, one that I would look back upon and think “Well, at least the book was good…”

Not. At. All. The movie was good. A book-movie… and it was good! I really am ecstatic. This is a break through. I haven’t felt like this since I saw The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, or Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I do believe  that it’s the best movie I’ve ever seen. At least in terms of filming, storyline, acting, imagery-

So here were my thoughts as I walked in opening night, watched, and just contemplated.

– There are lots of people here.

– There are lots of teen people here.

– I imagine the theatre was packed like this for the last Twilight movie.

Gross.

– Is she holding a life sized poster of Peeta? Is he looking at me? Creepy…

– OH. It’s starting. Everybody stop screaming hysterically…

– Wow. Wow. This is… it’s… Wow.

And I locked my eyes upon the screen for the rest of the movie. But there were many things that bothered me throughout. They are still  on my mind. And I’m not talking about what was on the screen. The movie, I felt, was one to dwell upon. There was murder, yes. Violence, plentifully so. But it wasn’t senseless. At least, in the eyes of the viewer.

You see, the whole premise, in a paragraph (Pheew. Here goes.) is this:

District 12 is one of (you got it) twelve districts that are run by a government known as the Capitol. Every year, the Capitol takes twenty-four tributes, one boy and one girl from each district and each between the ages of twelve and eighteen, to battle each other in a gladiatorial-style and nationally televised death match known as The Hunger Games, as penance for past misdeeds (a battle for freedom gone horribly awry). This is the story of one of the twenty-four tributes, Katniss Everdeen, and her struggle for survival.

I hope that pretty much sums up the storyline. (If not, go read the books! If so, see if not!) Of the movie, I say, “To be applauded.” Of the audience, I say, “Eeeeh…” I can tell you one thing: Most of the kids that were at that premiere weren’t there for the artistic power or beautiful storytelling that The Hunger Games conveyed. They were there because there friends were, or it was an excuse to stay up late, or because Gosh, the books were just SO romantic! (Please, sense my sarcasm here.)

Picture this in your mind, if you will: The theatre is mostly silent as the movie plays, save for the crunching of popcorn and sipping of various caffeinated beverages. On the screen, a fight breaks out. A kid, no older than perhaps fifteen, goes down under the blade of another. (Yep, spoiler: SOMEBODY DIES.) It’s awful. And from those watching in the theatre with me comes scores of exaggerated “Oh, bummer”s and “Well, that’s gotta’ hurt”s. Some kids laugh. One kid behind me mutters he didn’t like that kid much anyway.

Can you imagine my frustration? These people around me were laughing at brutal death, unable to take it seriously. (P.S. Yes, I know it wasn’t real. But in this story that Mrs. Collins has created [and in part predicted], people are being slaughtered. But they laugh.) It really was, and forgive me if I sound dramatic, a bit of an eye opener.

More to come. Until the next…

Also, there’s an update in my book giveaway/contest/birthday/thing. Go check it out! >> http://wp.me/p1iqKC-ae

5 thoughts on “The Hunger Games :: What Was (Pt. One)

  1. Seth, I can’t agree with you more. I’ve been dealing with some Hunger Games issues and am still excited to go see it – but it’s the way audiences are taking it that irritates me. Way to go. =)

  2. Pingback: The Hunger Games :: What Should Be (Pt. Two) « Muse

  3. Mmmm. I’ve been debating on reading the book but the premise just feels…blegh to me. Kids killing kids is a little grotesque as an entire premise in itself.

    • I agree. But it is IN NO WAY the entire premise of the book. Just feel the extreme need to clarify, here. That would be a rotten book. :-) The book is about the injustices of a government that has taken control in an unnatural and, ultimately, evil way. It is the story of one girl’s fight for survival in a world that does not make sense, and trying to find a way to fight back. Freedom vs. Bondage. Justice vs, well, lunacy. Does that make you want to read it any more?

  4. Pingback: A Hero Defined :: … Or not. « Muse

Leave a Reply

