An Idea 2.0 :: A Purpose for the Broken

Who here has seen the movie Hugo? If you have, yes, I know how cool it is. If you haven’t, go now. I don’t care if the closest theater to you is in the next state- It’s a good day for a road trip. Prime stuff, ladies and gents. Besides the beautiful filming, tasty-looking baked goods, and general French-ish feel of the movie, the messages it put across were commendable. Like the below quote.

“Maybe it’s like people; if you lose your purpose, it’s like you’re broken.” –Hugo

We, as sinners, have lost our purpose. But first, to define purpose. (And no, I don’t need a dictionary for this one.) Man’s main purpose, the one we were created for, is to glorify God.

I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever. (Psalm 86:12 ESV)

We are designed to stand before the world, our audience, point to the ancient yet relevant book in our hands and say, with total conviction, “These are the words of my father!” (Seemed deserving of an exclamation point. :-))

“I’d imagine the whole world was one big machine. Machines never come with any extra parts, you know. They always come with the exact amount they need. So I figured, if the entire world was one big machine, I couldn’t be an extra part. I had to be here for some reason.” –Hugo (Movie)

Your reason is him. But if you are broken, you are unable to do what God has designed you to do. And you are born broken. But through Christ you are fixed, and have purpose once more. But here is a question: How do you do it? In what way do you glorify the Creator?

This brings me to my second point. Personal purpose. How has God equipped you to serve him? That’s just it. He equipped you. You know what you are capable of. Think about it. What are you good at? How could use that to point up to God? Lemme’ give you an example.

This is Brian Norby. Brian goes to my church, cooks good hotdogs, and works in construction. He spoke this week about an opportunity he had to talk with a friend of his about God. The guys name was Isaiah, and Brian asked how it was spelled, wondering if he was a Christian. After they had spoken for awhile, Brian gave Isaiah “The Case for Christ” by Lee Strobel.

See. See?! Watch this. Brian does construction. >> Brian talks to fellow worker. >> Asks him what he thinks about God. >> Gives him “Case for Christ.” SWEETNESS! Glorifying God through construction. How much easier can it be to do so in writing? Drawing? As a writer who’s open about my faith, I can simply say, “I love my Jesus.”

My point is this: You have a purpose. Glorify God. You have a way of doing this.( Maybe it’s singing. Or dancing. Or making paper mache. You figure it out.) I’d really like to have a third point, but honestly, the first two sum this all up pretty darn neat. Go and praise Him!

Until the next…

P.S. If you’re thinking, An Idea 2.0? Really? please forgive me. But it just sounded so much cooler than An Idea 2.

One thought on “An Idea 2.0 :: A Purpose for the Broken

  1. GOOD STUFF. Yes. That movie is on our “must see SOON” list (I’m pretty sure it is the only one on the list at the moment). So glad to hear there are some good thoughts in the movie.
    Off to glorify God as I care for my daycare family. Thank you for writing truth, dear friend.

Leave a Reply

