An Idea :: But a Breath

Photo courtesy of Joel Robison

You are an artist. And by “artist,” I don’t mean you paint things. (Though perhaps you do.) I don’t mean that you are a musician, an actor, or a writer. (Though I do not question your ability to write, act, or play the bagpipes. Actually… Yeah, I do question your ability to play the bagpipes.)

I mean that you create. Get out your Bible. Look at the first five words of Genesis 1:1. “In the beginning, God created”. Did you pick up on that? Let me clarify. “In the beginning, God CREATED“.  And a little p.s. 26 verses later. “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” God spoke the heavens and the earth literally bringing them into existence with speech. Talk about originality.

Then what? He made us, the human race, in his own image. Knowing that someday, we would betray him. We would let him down, and then put him up- onto a cross. And he gifted us immeasurably. (I know, What? Seriously? How could he do that?! I’m as baffled as you are. Try John 3:16. “Deep, and wide. Deep, and wide, there’s a fountain-“) God gave us the ability to create.

No, not like he did. Our breath does not bring life, but out words empower. In our hands, we do not hold the world, but in our minds there are a thousand. “Think about it.” These words I’ve used so many times take on new meaning to me. I spoke with some friends today about the strangeness of the human mind. One was saying, (paraphrase) “Sometimes, I’ll say one thing, which reminds me of another, which reminds me of another thing, etc. Eventually, another thing will come out of my mouth on a completely different topic, and everybody looks at me funny.”

I have the mind of a writer. When I see an orange, I can think, “Orange > Juice > Sour> Acidic> Burn> Fire >Bomb> Incredibles > Pixar” within a span of about ten seconds. When asked what he sees, Sherlock Holmes replies plainly, “Everything. That is my curse.” I do not claim to be Sherlock, (I lack the cool hat.) but I see much, even where there is little to see. (Like the ironic statement made by policemen and nervous teachers everywhere, “There’s nothing to see here.” This is generally taken as meaning “There is something very interesting back here that I’m keeping it to myself.”)

My point is, your imagination, thoughts, and ability to be inspired are gifts from God. Use them well, use them often. THINK {in caps}, DON’T JUST TYPE THAT WAY. Psalm 94:11, “The Lord knows the thoughts of man, that they are but a breath.” Coincidence? Maybe…

P.S. A friend of mine, Jonathan Maiocco, is giving away some of his music on his blog. Go check out the giveaway HERE. >> http://bit.ly/x3PLtk

Until the next…

6 thoughts on “An Idea :: But a Breath

  1. This is a wonderful post. Wonderful job. I especially liked the bit about having a writers mind. I too think like that. For example, I’m made about ducks (hence my blog theme) and one rubber duck I got didn’t have a name. And, me being as sad as I am :lol:, decided to name it.
    Its a spotted duck so this was my train of thought:
    Spotted Duck > Spotted Dick > Dick > Richard
    :lol: Crazy, I know, but that’s just my way of thinking.

    Again, thanks for a great post!

  2. Pingback: The Australian Substitute Teacher | Opinionated Duck

  3. Pingback: “The Fellowship of the Ring” by J.R.R. Tolkien :: The Lord of the Rings | The Embarrassed Zebra

  4. Pingback: Ocean of Night :: Dark « Muse

  5. Pingback: A story to tell. « Muse

Leave a Reply

