You’re Being a Baby :: Make Dad Proud

Photo Credit: en.loadtr.com

Look at that cute kid. I can say, with all honesty, “Man. That kid is cuteneeessssss.” But do I want to be little pucker-lips? Nope. Can he feed himself? No. Walk? No. Change himself? No. (I’m guessing…) I can do all those things. (Thank goodness.) In fact, I can do all those things, and write a humorous and (at least vaguely) meaningful blog! *bow* Be inspired.

But I’m not here to brag about my abilities. There is a point to this post. …And I’m getting there. :-) In the meantime, you need to know something about my family. (If you don’t know it already.) I have four brothers.

Can you tell where I cropped in Z? ;-) He must have been busy in the… lemur… exhibit. *cough* Anyways. In my house, there are many boys. And unfortunately, being human, an insult occasionally slips between the lips of one or another of us. One of such is the title, “Baby.” (I know; Shame, shame.) In other words, “Wassupwhichoo? You’re acting like an infant!”

(Can I just say: AAAAAWww… #cutecousin) That’s right, you got it. I’m about to get all Biblical on you. :-) Hold on tight…

1 Peter 2a Like newborn babies, you must crave pure spiritual milk so that you will grow into a full experience of salvation.

Like a baby, one must go to God and say, “Dad, I screwed up. While you still take me?” And God, of course, says yes. But there’s more…

Ephesians 4:13 This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ.
14 Then we will no longer be immature like children. We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching. We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth.15 Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ, who is the head of his body, the church.

Christianity easy? Nuh-uh. Are you reading this too? “This will continue until we… mature… Then we will no longer be immature like children… Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ” You’re a Christian- Great! But now, you’ve gotta’ GROW UP! It’s not right to mess up, and then go to Jesus saying, “Father, please forgive me. (At least, until next time.)”

Here’s a picture for you: You die. (Car crash, beaten up by an old lady, real peaceful like in your sleep- however you go.) Suddenly, you are suspended over your own body, and then rushing away through time and space until Pop! There you are, standing before the gates of Heaven. The Creator stands over you, and all the heavenly hosts stand by watching as he says, “Child, I’m so glad you are here. But,” he booms in a voice like thunder, “When you were living your life down on earth, you were, quite frankly, a Baby.”

Can you imagine? The crushing embarrassment, well all things that ever were stood by listening? Your heavenly face goes dark crimson. “Uhh, sorry, Pops. Really messed that one up.”

Eeeyikes. How much better would it be to read your Bible? Study it? Actually listen to what your Pastor is talking about way up front there? Ask for forgiveness, and then strive to be better? Do it. Make Dad proud.

4 thoughts on “You’re Being a Baby :: Make Dad Proud

  1. Seth, I’m really impressed that you, a teenager, are not ashamed to talk about your faith and being a Christian. Your last post, Army in the Middle, was “like, way deep, you know”. I’m glad to be a follower of your blog.

  2. Wow, I had chaple today at school and this same message was preached. Growing up and maturing in our faith; being kind to one another. So right now, I’m asking myself, “Is God trying to tell me something?” Answer: yes, definitely! I need to make Dad proud!

  3. Seth,
    Again my heart is touched by the level of your faith. I know from years and years and years and years of living and learning that listening to God and then choosing to do His will is true wisdom. I am thrilled that you know this and and are living it already at your age! I cherish watching God use you and your many talents for His amazing purposes! BIG Hugs, GAG

Leave a Reply

