The Breath of God :: Musings of a Muscle-Deprived Bibliophile

How does a bookworm get fantastical muscles? Obviously not by turning pages. Or lifting pencils. Or typing keys like a madman. No, I will never be an Arnold Schwarzenegger. One’s muscles, one has found, will only grow so large when half of one’s time is spent with one’s head in notebooks. But that’s okay with me. When I publish my fantasy novel and get crazy rich (You don’t know how many times I say that every day.) I won’t have to worry about muscles as much.

But what does this have to do with the Breath of God? There is, besides the obvious reason, a point to my ravings. This post is not merely a shout out to my fellow muscle-deprived bibliophiles. It is a physical (as physical as a computer file could be) representation of my musings on the breath of God.

Now, if you were to walk up to a man lifting waits in a gym, and you asked him to show you his strength, what would he do? He’d pull one of these.

Boom. Boom. Firepower. :-) But what, in the beginning of all time, did God use to form you?  Did he flex his heavenly muscles and, with a huge amount of willpower- Poof! Man! No. That’s not how I remember it going.

 Genesis 2:7 And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul.

No divine muscles? Nuh-uh. Breath. He didn’t even flex? Nope. This is just one more way that God shows how much bigger, and more powerful, and crazy cooler he is than puny little us. And you know where he said those muscles had got to?

 Romans 12:4-5 Just as our bodies have many parts and each part has a special function, so it is with Christ’s body. We are many parts of one body, and we all belong to each other.

That’s right: We’re the muscles! We’re the body of the creator of the universe- the arms, the legs, the mouth, the eyes. God works through us, we who are given life through his breath. But know this, Christian, that a muscle is useless unless it is part of the body. Part of the body. You are a part of the most powerful body in the universe. Be moved.

P.S. Today’s question actually has nothing to do with the post. I’ve taken to listening to music while I write. So my question is this: What is your favorite song right now? Like, “dance in public” favorite? (Doesn’t apply to me. I dance in public to nearly any song. :-D)

3 thoughts on “The Breath of God :: Musings of a Muscle-Deprived Bibliophile

  1. Love it. Also can’t help but think of God’s first show of power: speaking.
    Using words to make big changes seems to be a tradition in this universe. :)

    Ok, dance in public song? Oooh, anything on a bagpipe comes to mind, but that tends to make me stand stock-still and close my eyes, not dance. Hm. I would say “Unwritten”. I know it’s supposed to be metaphorical, but I find myself very energized when I take it literally. :D!

  2. As always, your writing is a master piece, Seth! A song I could dance to in public would be…I don’t know really. It really depends who is in the room with me. If I’m with my friends, I can dance to any song that has a good rhythm. If it’s like in the middle of a large amount of people, nothing could make me dance and act like a maniac. Although my dad makes me habit of dancing in the most ridiculous circumstances to embarrass me. Sounds like your dad does the same! I, personally think they love us a little too much!

Leave a Reply

