Once Upon A Time :: Reality’s a Lovely Place, But…


Photo Credit: coolest-wallpapers.com

(This post is a journal entry I wrote several days ago. I wrote it blog style, for your personal enjoyment. Enjoy!)

Once upon a time, (about 9 AM several weeks ago,) in a land far, far away, (Canada,) … where am I going with this? Before I tell you, I want you to read that first phrase one more time. (Minus the add-ins.) “Once upon a time, in a land far, far away…” Doesn’t that just make you shiver? Breathe a little deeper? To me, it’s reminiscent of books- Fantasy, to be precise. The smell of dust on a wooden bookshelf. That particular phrase (long time ago, far, far away,) obviously works, (*cough* Lucas *cough*) and I’ll tell you why:
It takes you to a different place.

I’m going to play a game with you now, my clever and cultured blog readers. I will give you three words, and I want you to guess the book that I’m talking about. The first one will be easy.

1. Lion, Witch, Wardrobe. (A little too easy. :-D) “The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe” by C.S. Lewis.
2. Boy, Magic, School. “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” by J.K. Rowling. (In an attempt to challenge you, I decided not to go with “Hogwarts, Dumbledore, Voldemort.”)
3.Vampires, Romance, Screaming Women. Yep, you got it- “Twilight” by Stephenie Meyer. (Thank you, thank you.)

My in point in all this is that books are like road trips- you never forget them. You don’t travel to the beach, and then forget what sand looks like after you leave. You don’t trek to the great state of Minnesota, and upon your departure forget the sight of a child standing in the snow with his whole face stuck to a flagpole. (Yes, it has happened.) These things are memorable.

In the same way, you don’t forget a good book. The last time I read “The Dawn Treader” by C.S. Lewis from cover to cover, I was in the 4th grade. But I can still remember the first line, almost word for word. “There once was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.” That first line was like a statue in a foreign land, one that I hope to return to again, and again, and again.

Oh, what was it that I was talking about in the beginning? Once upon a time, in a land far, far away, I had Beatrice’s Chocolate milk.

And it was marvelous.

5 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time :: Reality’s a Lovely Place, But…

  1. Nice post, Seth. “Long ago and far away…” I do love that opening line. The Narnia books have been favorites of mine since I was old enough to first read them. Harry Potter is a much newer favorite, but I can’t say I care for the Twilight series at all.

  2. Pingback: ABC’s of Thanks :: I like to eat, eat, eat, apples and Buh-nAnA’s | Muse

Leave a Reply

