Sunshine and Grapevines :: Still There?

Have you ever know someone who gets really weird on the phone? As in:

1. Makes bland comments. You know, “Isn’t the weather real… I don’t know… weather-y?”

2. Says “Yeah” after everything you say. “I’ve been having a hard time with my car.” “Yeah, I know how it is.” “No, Earl, you don’t own a car, you bike everywhere.” “I know, right?”

3. Continually asks if you are still there. It doesn’t matter if they know you’re getting emotional, or if you just got hit by a car; if the briefest moment goes by in silence, they will begin hounding you. “Dave you there? Good. Still there? Good, good.”

I know someone like that. Namely? Me.

Personally, I have the most trouble with number three. With a mere moment’s hesitation, I will begin the endless cycle. “Still there? Okay, thought I lost you. Woah, you’re quiet. Still there?” Sometimes, I’m jumpy like that spiritually.

God talks to me. He is in my mind and in my soul, and he speaks to me, and I love him for it. It’s my personal proof that God made us, and that he loves us enough to stay here, to live in our hearts, if only we’ll open up.

But sometimes, God is quiet. He isn’t like a coach, constantly drilling me with orders. “Seth, go read your Bible. Done? Good. Think about that for about, oh, three minutes. Making good time, Seth. Now, run off to church to learn about me. Go! Go!” Sometimes He’ll say something like, “Go study your sermon notes.” And then, nothing.

And I start to go, “God? You still there?” I know it’s silly, but that’s just me. I just want him to talk and talk and talk, but no. He is saying, “Seth, listen. What did I tell you already?”

So today, I studied my sermon notes, and here’s what I found. :)

“God seems to me to work more in the wind and the waves than in the sunshine.” -Pastor Jim Johnson, of Good Shepherd Lutheran Church

Is that right? God, are you telling me that when you are quiet, you are working in me? In the wind and waves, you’re preparing me fo the sunshine? Ooooh.

And directly above:

John 15 > Between the Wins

“He cuts off every branch of mine that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more.” John 15:2 NLT

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit.” John 15:5a NLT

When God gets quiet in your life, and you start thinking, “Still there? Still there?”, read your Bible. Study. Check the notes you took on a sermon three weeks ago. God wants you to hear him, he just isn’t always speaking.

One final thought, before I retire to my bedroom: Isn’t it interesting that the rain helps the plants grow?

4 thoughts on “Sunshine and Grapevines :: Still There?

  1. Yes. Thank you, Seth!!! What a gracious God we serve. Hey- have you heard Jeremy Camp’s worship album, We Cry Out?? If not, check it out- it is STELLAR. I’ve been listening to it all the time and your post really brought some of the lyrics to mind.

Leave a Reply

