Sleep Speak :: Dr. Seuss

Any of you ever read Dr. Seuss’s “The Sleep Book”? I have. Many, many times. Let me just say, Dr. Seuss is the coolest children’s Author  on the planet. I don’t know anybody else who can do what he does with words. And I don’t even care that he events about half them.

In this wonderful conglomeration of Sleepy Facts, Seuss mentions two brothers. Said brothers have a habit: they speak in their sleep. We’re not talkin’ mumbling and grumbling. Oh no, I mean full blown conversations.

“You gonna’ go to that Barbecue on Monday, Stan?

“No, Flan, I will be otherwise occupied.”

The reason I bring this up is because I spent last night sleeping in my little brothers’ room. Multiple of the little chidlin’s talk in their sleep. No, not a back-and-forth like Stan and Flan’s, but not just mumbling.

This is not new. In any way. They’ve been doing this for years, and we are told that one of our Grandmothers is also prone to night babbling. :D I don’t. At least, I’m told that I don’t…

Anyways, it is often entertaining if one of them, say, falls asleep in our living room. At bedtime, we have to walk them to their rooms, and make sure that they don’t take any unnecessary detours. Like a third trip to the bathroom.

On one such occasion, we watched a movie in our living room with our friend over for the night. My brother fell asleep on the couch. At the end of the movie, my Dad asked me and my friend to take my brother back to his room.

We walked him out of the living room and down the hallway, but then he stopped. He stood for a moment, and then, he threw back his head and started singing a song about a  girl with a pet dragon. It was surprisingly tuneful. :D I was laughing so hard that I fell over. Still in a tired daze, he looked at me, grunted, and walked the rest of the way to his room.

Leave a Reply

