Word of the Year

There has been a challenge on blogs recently, one that I have taken up whole-heartedly. People are choosing “One Word” for this year. What word best describes your hopes for the coming year?

Now, if it was a two word challenge, I’d say “Filthy Rich”, but being that it isn’t… :D

Wisdom is my word for the coming year, or more accurately, wisdom from the mouth of our Heavenly Father. I’ve been reading through Proverbs recently, and have been doing a devotional written to go with it, “Ancient Wisdom” by James MacDonald.

Anyone who listens to me is happy, watching by my door every day, waiting by the posts of my doorway. -Proverbs 8:34

The fact that is repeatedly brought up by the authors of both of these books is this: When we listen, we can easily obtain wisdom. God has told us quite clearly that we will not have to go to some desolate mountain and meditate for hours on end.  We just have to listen! But that isn’t human nature. God calls us to fight our instincts, to sit down and just Zip it. Listen to Him. :)

One thought on “Word of the Year

  1. Good stuff, Seth. Good stuff. Have I told you how much I love your blog???? I believe I have- several times, at that. Well, once again, I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!! :-) Thank you for your insights and for always making me seriously L.O.L. Heehee. There- see? You did it again.

Leave a Reply

