Magic in Christian Lit. :: Leprechaun Monks and Dragons with Bibles?

Boyo. I know this is a “HOT TOPIC”, and I am expecting controversy. So what I wish to do today is explain where I’m coming from thoroughly. I’ll build a wall, and those of you who see holes in it, do tell me where they are. Kapeesh?

MY THINKING ON GOD

God was, is, and always will be. 2010 years ago (approximately) his son Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins. We were offered salvation. He is is alive today, not a physical being, but an entity in the hearts of those who accept him the world over. Understood? This is not, however, the bit we’ll be arguing over today. Christ is fixed in my heart as cement to stone.

MY THINKING ON MAGIC

I believe  that there are two different things called “Magic”

Magic in the World we Live In. This magic is the magic detestable to Christians and many others. Cults. Worship of Evil. Gory Yuck. This is NASTY. That is one more thing that I will not argue. This is of the Devil, it is evil, it is real, and it should be shunned.

But the magic I that I want to talk about today is that referred to in Fictional Literature. E. Nesbit. C.S.Lewis. I’m talking magic carpets. Genies in lamps.  Candles that ask you if they may light themselves, as they are feeling chilly. My theory: this is a different magic. Dragons are huge, potent, magical creatures that burn down cities and capture princesses. They aren’t evil servants of the devil. When an Author writes about magical leprechauns, does that mean that he means to give credit to the Lord of Darkness? I don’t think so.

THE DIFFERENCES

Magic of this World (OW) is evil and real. It exists, and should be kept away from.

Magic of the fictional Kind (OK) is OK. :) It’s alright to read a book about a boy who has regular conversations with a magical tomato. The author doesn’t intend to pollute the minds of the children reading his book. Any of you who have seen Bob and Larry on Veggie Tales know that they aren’t evil voodoo veggies. But who has seen a talking vegetable in real life?  No one. Does this mean they’re evil? I think not.

When I read about a creepy old witch in the woods that puts slugs and leaves of maple in a stew, chanting ‘Murk-a-bruk, -foo-lah-lah!’ I don’t run and wash my hands. I snicker a little bit, (‘foo-lah-lah!’? seriously?) and then I continue reading. When the Brother’s grimm wrote the old lady in the woods who “fattened up the children, so she she could sup on them”, I wasn’t offended. I just thought, “man, this lady needs a sandwich. She has a house made of candy, and all she wants to eat is fat little kids?” Despite questioning her taste, I didn’t feel like she was a threat to my morality.

I believe think that sometimes, thinking that impossible things can happen isn’t necessarily bad for you. I mean, for me as a writer of Fantasy, I have to. HAVE to. But as a Christian, sometimes I catch myself thinking, “Pray about THAT. No… God can’t do that. That’s too big.” But if He can make all of us, He can help me keep my thoughts on Him. He can help the old guy down the street. He can help your younger siblings with PATIENCE. :D And normally, you may think that would be impossible.

2 thoughts on “Magic in Christian Lit. :: Leprechaun Monks and Dragons with Bibles?

  1. I agree with your post! I struggled a fair bit a couple of years ago about the magic angle in some books (even secular books) that I really enjoyed, and I wondered if I was doing the right thing. (Inkheart, Peter and the Starcatchers, etc.) I had a talk with my mum’s friend, and she basically told me what you’ve said here. You can generally tell what magic is evil/satanic or not. Although I would put a book down about witches, because they are real and out there! Trouble is, some Christians don’t put the right books in the evil category. What do you think?

  2. Yes!!! Yes, yes, yes!!! Exactly. Sometimes its hard for me to say what I mean, but this pretty much sums it up.

    Very good post. Excellent, in fact. Thanks.

    Nichole

Leave a Reply

